Food blogs and other blogs.

I suppose my blog can be considered somewhat of a food blog when you think about how frequent I talk about the subject matter. I just really like food, okay? Everyone else does, it seems, and apparently food blogs have become such a big fad that they have created an episode of The Simpsons dedicated to food blogs. It puts a little damper on my ideas for this blog because I don’t want this to be “just another food blog,” but I suppose it is. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but in an attempt to be original I suppose I’m not doing it right.

At the end of the day, it shouldn’t really matter. The reasons why I created this blog is to have a place where I can put my thoughts out in the open in a more organized matter where other blogging platforms *coughtumblrcough* fail, or at least wordpress is a better environment for me to type more organized thoughts. I also created this blog because it’s starting to become more important in the job market to have experience with blogging. There, I said it, I created a blog because I’m using it as a marketing tool to market myself. I’m definitely aware that I am doing this and many others before me have done the same thing. I’m a business major and the thing that really kills me about being a business major is that there really isn’t much to show your progress through school. Most of my friends in college are art majors and it’s really easy to whip out a portfolio the documents their growth in their respective concentrations. I don’t have much, so I suppose this is my kind of “portfolio” if you will.

That being said, I don’t want my blog to be formulaic. I definitely need to mix things up and just talk about things that I like. Like how I’ve started getting into Animal Crossing: Wild World this past week and I can’t stop playing and it may or may not be affecting my schoolwork (it’s not.. yet). Video games, television shows and other things that I want to post are going to be recorded here. Something like that.

Anyway! With all that being said, I would like to share a few blogs that I love to read!

I love reading Austin Eater. Although I can’t afford to pay for a lot of the restaurants they talk about, my inner-faux-foodie is excited every time I read something. I like pretending like I know something about food and reading Eater definitely helps. Are you coming to Austin soon/do you live in Austin? I can give you some suggestions on some good food places! (I would love to write for Austin Eater as well oops, this paragraph was really poorly written)

You know how I said that I love reality television? Well, I love reading about it too. Reality Blurred is a wonderful blog written by Andy Dehnart. It mixes reality television reviews, recaps, and criticism about the genre all in one wonderful blog. The comment thread is another great thing, as it’s fun to see people discuss something that is looked down upon from the culture elite. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I watch reality television self-aware that I’m not really watching the greatest tv, but there is something wonderful about it. Being self-aware doesn’t necessarily make me a better person, but it’s better than completely dismissing something that exists. I think some competitive reality shows like Top Chef (duh), Top Shot and Survivor are legitimately good television shows because of their cinematography and the editing. I also think some reality shows are good because of the social commentary it provides.

I don’t know too much about fashion, but I like reading about it a bit. I stumbled upon it while I was looking for some blogs to follow on wordpress. I appreciate the fashion articles and I also liked learning about the fact that Manila Fashion Week exists. I love learning new things and being somewhat up to date on fashion news is never a bad thing. Okay, I guess these are dumb reasons. Anyway, this is also a shout-out because I’m glad that this guy follows me!

Lastly, this is another blog that I found while looking for things to follow. I love narrative and story-telling blogs, and The Breakfast Bachelor is about breakfast, New York and living. It’s still a fairly young blog, like my own, but I love reading his posts. It definitely encourages me to write even more (and improve on my grammar).

Anyway, those are a few blogs that I tend to check a lot. Are there any blogs that you guys follow daily? I’m sorry that this post was a little all over the place. Now if you excuse me, I have a statistics test to study for..

3 thoughts on “Food blogs and other blogs.

  1. I have some fun blogs on my blog roll. They span the gamut from “a little of this and that” to seriously focused, like http://ihavetriedit.wordpress.com And if you are so inclined, feel free to leave a link to your blog in The Green Room. I just opened it for my followers to advertise themselves.

    And you should not worry too much on the “focus” of your blog unless you are looking to monetize it, which necessarily means having a niche or a massive following in all the categories in which your post may fall. But if this should truly be your professional portfolio, be mindful of the personal asides which may come to unravel the professional you portray.

    Enjoy the non-tumblr blogosphere!
    Red.

    • Thank you for your comment! I’m not looking to make money off of my blog, but more-so just have fun posting a mix of different things. That being said, I’m still trying to find somewhat of a niche on my blog as I’m only twelve posts in. Thank you for your tips!

Leave a Reply

